Skip to main content

Competition issue dossier

Food systems and buyer power

How does buyer concentration in regional cattle procurement affect producer options, contract terms, and supply-chain resilience?

The program follows the USDA national beef-packer CR4 series into a buyer-power research frame while preserving the need for regional procurement markets and firm-level evidence.

Bounded markets1
Evidence routes10
Official records0
Source custody3
Updated through2026-07-19
Interpretation boundaryIssue program, not market definition

The USDA series reports a national four-firm aggregate, not individual shares or a legal regional procurement market. HHI and firm-specific effects remain unsupported by this series alone.

Use standard

01 / Bounded market screens

Keep each measure inside its declared universe.

1 market profile remains separate inside this issue program. Census rows are navigation context, not substitutes.

Food and agriculture

U.S. steer and heifer purchases by beef packers

United States / regional cattle procurement markets / 2019

HHIWithheldCR4Not reportedTop shareNot reportedEvidenceIncompletehigh confidence

02 / Research program

Turn the issue frame into testable evidence requests.

Program questions are editorial research designs. Canonical dossiers appear only where the observatory has a definition-stable latest-to-prior signal.

Program questions

  1. 01

    Which plant-level purchases, procurement distances, capacity, contracts, and prices define regional buyer alternatives?

  2. 02

    How do entry, exit, outages, captive supply, and transportation costs change producer bargaining options?

  3. 03

    Which firm-level records can disaggregate the national CR4 without inferring equal shares among the four largest buyers?

03 / Participants and attribution

Separate source labels from operator evidence.

Participant shares apply only to their source, year, and market. Operator links rely on separate official attribution records and do not establish a complete ownership graph.

Measured rows

Source-labeled participants

0
No firm-level share table.

The current public evidence does not support participant rows for this issue market.

1 aggregate or residual category is excluded from the firm count and retained in the public packet.

Separate evidence

Official operator attributions

0
No encoded operator attribution.

Market context alone is not enough to assert an operator, owner, or corporate family.

04 / Official record

Read chronology and named organizations as separate evidence.

0 dated records and 0 exact organization labels; no liability or causal inference is added.

No issue-linked official record is encoded.

This means the current public dataset has no declared policy-event relationship for the issue market. It is not evidence that enforcement or policy activity does not exist.

Open enforcement atlas